News Ministry Of Education

Home / Media /News

Sector News

Provide periodic external evaluation reports - Prof. Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang


The Minister for Education, Professor Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang, has asked a 15-member Governing Council of the National Inspectorate Board (NIB), to provide on periodic basis, an external evaluation report of the performance of pre-tertiary educational institutions for the provision of needed support.

This was because NIB is one of the three autonomous educational oversight bodies established under the 2008 Education Act (Act 778) to improve professional standards of teachers.

“This responsibility requires individuals with the requisite skills and experience in their established areas of work”, and it was on this note that President Mahama nominated them to serve on the Governing Council to enhance its image, she said.

Prof. Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang made the comments when she swore in the Council in Accra.

Highlighting on some of the achievements of the NIB, she said it had developed quality indicators for evaluating schools performance which had been validated through a series of consultative meetings with relevant stakeholders such as GES, GNAT and others

The Board, she noted, had also printed and distributed about 10,000 booklets of Quality Indicators for evaluating school performance, to basic schools throughout the country to promote self-assessment of their performance by the management and heads of schools.   

Other successes achieved by the NIB include sensitization meetings with stakeholders in education including MMDCE, on regional basis to discuss district school performance brochure data and findings.

Also, the acquisition of 20 laptops and 19 desktop computers for office and field work for the inspectors of the Board as well as publication of Report on the State of Basic Education in the Country and conducting flash school inspection and monitoring visits.

Touching on the Education Act 2008 (Act 778), which, enjoins the Council to inspect schools, periodically evaluate first and second cycle institutions as well as set and enforce standards to be observed at basic and second cycle levels, she asked members of the Council to set up inspection panels to provide an independent external evaluation of quality and standards in educational institutions.

Prof. Jane Naana Opoku-Agyemang disclosed that the Education Bill, 2016, has been finalized by the Attorney-General’s Department and has been presented to Cabinet for approval.

She therefore employed members of the Council to familiarize themselves with the contents of the Bill as well as other key policy initiatives in the education sector in order to position themselves adequately to respond to issues in the sector.

The chairperson of the Governing Council, Prof. Esi Sutherland-Addy, on behalf of her colleagues acknowledged the honour done to them by their nomination to undertake the task ahead.




She called for the appointment of a Chief Inspector who would lead the team of inspectors, adding that they will maintain the minister’s stand on zero tolerance for teacher absenteeism.

She called for synergy between the various Councils and agencies in the sector to enable all work together to ensure the provision of quality education

Members of the Council are Messrs Dave Anane Druyey and Samuel Kotey Nikoi, representing the National Catholic Secretariat and Ghana National Association of Private Schools respectively, Mrs Emelia Derkyi, Ministry of Education, Rev. Dr. Kwabene Opuni-Frimpong, Christian Council of Ghana, Prof. Jonathan Ammah, University of Education, Winneba and Mr. Felix Akuffu-Badoo, WAEC.

Representing the Ahmadiyya Muslim Mission, Ghana, Joint Anglican Diocesan Council of Ghana, COTVET, and GES are Mr. Dimbie Mumuni Issah, Ven Dr. Samuel Agyiri Kyereme, Mr. Sebastian Deh and Mrs Jacquiline Sory respectively

The rest are Dr. Augustine Tawiah, NIB, Prof. Emmanuel James Flolu, Government nominee, Dr. Cosmos Cobbold, Government nominee and Prof.  Mwuadem k. Amedeker also a government nominee.

News Archives

2017 Archives

2016 Archives

2015 Archives

2014 Archives