News Ministry Of Education

Home / Media /News

Sector News

Committee on e-Learning inaugurated


A steering committee on e-Learning Integrated Laboratories project for 240 selected Senior High Schools (SHSs) has been inaugurated in Accra.

The project is part of efforts by the Government of Ghana through the Ministry of Education (MoE) to improve educational outcomes. The Government has contracted a loan of €13.2 million from the Belgium Government to establish the laboratories throughout the country.

The key objective of the project is to support the implementation of Ghana Government e-Learning objectives and plans, provide technology to develop electronic course material for schools and provide technology to facilitate computer laboratory based classroom teaching.

The inauguration was performed by Mr. Benjamin Afful, Director, Finance and Administrationm, MoE, on behalf of the Chief Director of the Ministry, Mr. Enoch H. Cobinnah.

The project, Mr. Cobinnah acknowledged in a speech read on his behalf, is to also promote access to ICT infrastructure to connect all educational institutions benefiting from the project for internet support learning as well as facilitate ICT integration in the curriculum and to build capacity of teachers.

The project implementation requires the setting up of the right governance structures with key stakeholders to carry out activities aimed to achieve the objectives, thus the inauguration of the Committee.

The membership of the steering committee of the project is made up of the project sponsor, members of the technical committee, officials from the Ghana Education Service (GES), officials of the MoE, Conference of Assisted SHSs (CHASS), NITA, Ministry of Finance (MoF) and Africa Bagg Limited, the local partners of Televic.

The steering committee is to provide support, guidance and oversight to the project and delegated responsibility to sustain the project.

It is also to establish a regular meeting schedule, extend invitation to appropriate meeting participants and arrange meetings.

The Committee has the mandate to select or hire any person, staff or consultant that would be required for a particular activity, monitor all activities initiated as part of the project plan.

The members of the project committee are Mr. Cobinnah, Chief Director, Chair; Mr. Francis Avugbey, Director ICT, MoE; Mr. Richmond Atta-Wlliams, GES; Dr. Joshua Mallet, Centre for Distance Learning and Open Schooling, and CHASS representative, Mrs. Elizabeth Asare; MoF representative, Mr. Adu Amponsah; representative of NITA, Mr. Francis Fugah.

The rest are, the acting Deputy Director General of the GES, Mrs. Cynthia Bosomtwe-Sam; Director, CRDD, GES, Mrs. Felicia Boakye Yiadom; Director, Secondary Education Division, Mr. Michael Inkoom; Director, Accounts, MoE, Mrs. Emilia Derkyi; Director, Accounts GES, Mrs. Evelyn Naa Dei Thompson; Director Internal Audit, MoE, Mr. Daniel Adonu; Mr. Samuel Adjei, MoE ICT; and representative of Africa Bagg Limited, Nana Bonsu Okyere. 


News Archives

2017 Archives

2016 Archives

2015 Archives

2014 Archives