News Ministry Of Education

Home / Media /News

Sector News

UEW Governing Council inaugurated


A 17-member Governing Council of the University of Education, Winneba, has been sworn into office in the Central Region. The Council is the sixth to be inaugurated since the institution attained a University status.

The Governing Council is an important decision making body, which plays a critical role to ensure quality, efficiency and effectiveness.  It is tasked to adopt the right approach and practical interventions aimed to achieve excellence at the University.

Professor Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang, Education Minister, who led the Council to swear the Oath of Office and Secrecy, explained that His Excellency, President John Dramani Mahama has taken cognizance of the experience that would be brought on board by the members for efficient running of the University hence their appointment.

She noted that the Council’s mandate is to ensure that the institution trains students to acquire the professionalism and academic competencies for teaching in the tertiary and pre-tertiary and the non-formal education institutions to build professional and academic capabilities to service teachers through regular and distance education.

The Council is expected as mandated in the UEW Act 2004 to implement the aims of the University, to promote income generating activities as part of the University programmes and establish boards that are necessary and assign appropriately for effective work.

The Minister acknowledged the challenges the past Council were faced with, however, she was hopeful that the in-coming Council would continue the good work of their predecessors by providing policy directions and support to assist the University management.

The Chairman of the Council, Professor Richard Tuyee Awuah, in response, expressed gratitude to the Minister and President Mahama for the appointment.

He assured the Minister of the Council’s readiness to safeguard the University’s resources, human and material, promising to be just and fair in the discharge of their duties as Council members.

Prof. Awuah pledged the commitment of the members to work as a team and in harmony with all constituent bodies of the University including management, staff and students to maintain the UEW’s position as the premier University of Teacher Education in Ghana and the ECOWAS Sub-Region.

The Council Members include Dr. Henrietta Rowena Asare, Dr. Pasmor Kuranchie, Prof. Mawutor Avoke, Prof. Yaw Afari Ankomah, Dr. Jacob Kor, Prof. Mohammed Salifu, Rt. Rev. Matthew K. Gyamfi, Mr. Alexander Mawusi Buadi, and Mr. Emmanuel Osei Sarpong.

The rest are, Mr. Bruno Bajuaose Chirani, Dr. Samuel Bekoe, Prof. Yaw Serekye Annor, Dr. Stephen Jobson Mitchual, Mr. Samuel Ofori Danquah, Mr. Jarvis Kojo Koffie and Ms. Theresa Ackon. 

News Archives

2017 Archives

2016 Archives

2015 Archives

2014 Archives