News Ministry Of Education

Home / Media /News

Sector News

ST. Francis CoE Governing Council Chairman sworn -in


The Minister for Education, Professor Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang, has sworn in Reverend Professor Michael Okyerefo, as Chairman of the Governing Council of the ST. Francis College of Education (CoE) in Accra

At the ceremony, Prof. Opoku-Agyemang, expressed the government’s appreciation to the Chairman for the show of commitment and the quest to serve his country and thanked the former Governing Council members for their immense contributions.

The Chairman was urged to work closely with all stakeholders, including teachers, non-teaching staff, students, parents and alumni to maintain and improve the general conditions of the College to enable it perform efficiently.

The Minister recalled the launched of the four-year Transforming Teacher Education and Learning (T-TEL) programme with support from UKAID, which is in collaboration with other initiatives to support about 35,000 teachers nation-wide.

Under the programme, more than 20,000 teaching and learning materials have been distributed and over 20 workshops have been organised for teachers across the country.

Prof. Opoku-Agyemang said the National Teaching Council also organised a consultative workshop on a draft Pre-Service Teacher Standards for the Colleges and Universities of Education, with support from the T-TEL project.

She explained that the new policy framework - Pre-Tertiary Teacher Professional Development and Management - provides for all to work to improve the way in which teachers are trained for efficiency.

The Minister noted the importance of the Governing Councils as important decision making bodes, which play critical role in ensuring quality, efficiency and effectiveness in all institutions.

She entreated the chairman to work together with other members of the governing council to adopt the right approaches and practical interventions aimed at achieving excellence in the institution to strengthen performance.

Touching on the mandate of the Council, she said it is to ensure that students acquire the necessary professional and academic competencies for teaching in pre-tertiary institutions and non-formal education institutions.

Prof. Opoku-Agyemang implore the Chairman to ensure that Council Members comply with functions stated in the CoE Act, 2012 (Act 847).

In response, Rev. Prof. Okyerefo, expressed his gratitude for the honour done him. He emphasized the Council’s readiness to work hard despite the challenges facing the College.

The Chairman took both the Oath of Office and the Oath of Secrecy. The other members of the Council were sworn in a month ago.


The swearing in ceremony was witnessed by the Directors of Finance and Administration, Mr. Benjamin Afful, Mrs. Dora Darkwa Mensah, Director, Human Resource, Mrs. Wilhemina Asamoah, Director, Tertiary Education, Madam Sussie Afua Adoboe, a Council member, and the Principal of the ST. Francis CoE, Mr. Dennis M. K. Agbenuwor.

News Archives

2017 Archives

2016 Archives

2015 Archives

2014 Archives