News Ministry Of Education

Home / Media /News

Sector News

IMC for Wa Polytechnic Sworn-in


A three-member Interim Management Committee (IMC) for the Wa Polytechnic has been sworn into office to re-place the 13-member Council, which was dissolved in April, 2016 by H. E. President John Mahama.

The IMC has Professor Amin Alhassan as its Chairman, Mr. Chris Arcmann Ackummey, member and Mrs. Mary Abena Agyepong as its Secretary.

The Committee is expected to exercise powers of the Polytechnic Council as well as those of the Rector as provided for in the Polytechnics Act, 2007, Act 745.

The IMC, which is tasked to accomplish its mandate within four months, will also to take charge of the day-to-day management of the Polytechnic until a substantive reconstituted Council of the Polytechnic is appointed.

Swearing in the committee, the Hon. Minister for Education, Professor Naana Jane Opoku-Agyemang, on behalf of the President expressed her gratitude to the members for accepting to undertake this important and challenging national assignment.

She pledged her Ministry’s support for the Committee, and promised that the IMC would be given enough room to come out with their own work plan of action to ensure an effective work for the benefit of the Polytechnic staff, students and the conversion process of the Polytechnic into a Technical University.

The terms of reference of the IMC include taking the necessary steps to restore normalcy in the governance and management of the Polytechnic by September this year, propose a road-map to conversion readiness for the Polytechnic. Consider other related matters and submit biweekly reports on activities to the NCTE and the Ministry.

The interim Council is tasked to take appropriate steps, using due process, to recommend candidates for appointment as Rector, Registrar and Finance Officer.   

H. E. the President, upon the advice of the National Council for Tertiary Education (NCTE) authorised the Ministry of Education to dissolve the Governing Council of the Wa Polytechnic and put in place an Interim Management Committee.

The decision was necessitated by unresolved and protracted problems in the management and administration of the Polytechnic despite several interventions by the Ministry and the NCTE. The situation led to low staff and student morale, negative impact on the development of the Polytechnic, which has undermined efforts at preparing the Polytechnic for conversion to a Technical University.

The three-member board was appointed on their rich management experience and leadership skills relevant to the task.

In his acceptance statement, the Chairman of the Committee, Prof. Alhassan, thanked President Mahama for the responsibility bestowed on his team. This, he said, was an indication of the confidence he has in them. He pledged that the Committee would work hard to find solution to the challenges facing the Polytechnic.  

The inauguration was attended by the Deputy Minister in charge of Tertiary, Hon. Samuel Okudzeto Ablakwa, the Chief Director of the Ministry, Mr. Enoch H. Cobinnah, Executive Secretary of NCTE, Prof. Mohammed Salifu and officials of the Ministry.


News Archives

2017 Archives

2016 Archives

2015 Archives

2014 Archives